top of page

my toes are getting old

Updated: Jan 30, 2022

Life Lessons blogs

my toes are getting old, and so is my back,

I'm running, I'm walking, and picking up slack,

cuz this pain in my knee, child it has me scared.

I better relax, slow down or get outta here.

Everywhere I look, I see everything but old people,

young people, jive people, on fleeks and not my equals.


Child, my toes are getting old, and so is my hair,

I know you see its thin, and now it aint no sides there.


Cuz the stress it gets the best of me, I just lay back and relax,


I let my vitamins take root, because they keep me up to beat,

together we keep it moving, without em you'll find me sleep.


"how many naps you gonna take", my kids say,

...As many as I need to get through this day.


Cuz baby my toes are getting old, I gotta get outta here,

you had better listen to my wisdom, and hold my words dear.


Cuz my toes are getting old, God has blessed me, I still can see.

I can see you, I can see me, yet at times its tough to multiply by 3.


I used to be good at that, but my toes are getting old.

I read, I wrote, and could work indeed pass my goal.


My toes are getting old, as you can see

so I put one foot in front of the other, and for the time being,

be the best I can be.


My toes are getting old.



Dedicated to a mom, wife, sister, cousin, friend, "Pearlie" Keep Smiling!











Message of Love for the family was given by Bro. Emmanuel White Sr., church of Christ at Forest Hill, Ft. Worth, TX

Ecc. 12:1 "Remember Now, thy Creator in the Days of thy Youth, before the evil days draw nigh, when though shalt say, I have no pleasure in them... Now, let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter. Fear God, and keep His commands, for this is the whole of man; For God shall bring all works into judgment, and all hidden things, whether they be good or whether they be evil."

Pearlie has a great beautiful family. Characteristic today was all of the young youthful family members there that Pearlie has had under her wings. Their presentation to her along with the others were heartstriking, and it really showed what a faithful life Pearlie lived.

One of the grandchildren said, "She taught us respect, and to be loving and kind."

Bro White's eulogy was loving and timely directed toward the many youth in the audience leaving the pattern that we should focus on God Now, Give our lives to Him and not wait until the days come (and they come FAST!!! Bro White reiterated) when we no longer have pleasure.

Bro White beautifully portrayed the process of aging, that those of us who possess spirit pass through with time-- The teeth leaving, the back aching, the grey hairs budding, the fears approaching. Today children are being encouraged against the tide, to hold off serving God, and 'letting their hair down loose' during youth. Youth is a time of life of happiness, energy, motivation, goals, exitement, and much strength and Bro White reminds us that it is this time that we should LIVE, LIVE for God!


Press below to share post to your media profile

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Your First Love

Is it normal or unhealthy to still think about an ex-partner after several years of a breakup? Awww, that is very normal. This person simply

Comments


bottom of page